Hollywood’s Room Update

So we finally finished her room!  It looks fabulous!  I finally found an idea online for Hollywood’s storage bins from Ikea.  They were just plain pine and did not match her room.  

I followed the directions at http://beyondthescreendoordesigns.blogspot.com/2011/02/painted-papered-school-desk.html and turned those boring old bins into an absolutely adorable spot to hold all of Hollywood’s craft stuff.   I’m sorry I don’t have pictures to show the step-by-steps, but my camera is on the fritz (hence the bad pics) and my fabulous mother-in-law told me not to buy a new one before Christmas.  *wink* *wink* 

My hubby, Chris, took the storage unit apart, sanded it, primed it, and painted it pink with the extra paint from Hollywood’s bedroom walls.  Once the paint dried he gave us the top to decorate.  Hollywood and I used to the fabric leftover from making her curtains, cut it to fit and cover the top, then hot glued it to the top.  We used the leftover fabric from her pink curtains and made a letter H for decoration in the corner.  Chris put the whole thing back together and like magic we have a chic storage bin that accents Hollywood’s new bedroom!  And we spent NOTHING!  How resourceful am I?!

Even after that we still had leftover zebra print suede cloth.  We were getting rid of the old book shelf in Hollywood’s room.  This book shelf was made of particle board and bought for my bedroom when I was 5 years old… 26 years ago!  I cannot believe it held up for all these years. 

Chris removed the top shelf from the book shelf.  We couldn’t sand it because it would just turn the particle board into dust.  We couldn’t paint it because the “stain” is basically a sticker.  So instead, Hollywood and I wrapped it in the extra zebra print suede cloth and hot glued it into place.  For $1.00 Chris bought supports and then he screwed the whole thing to the wall under her newly installed flat screen.  Hollywood collects snow globes and gets a new one each Christmas.  Right now her shelf is displaying her snow globe collection, but who knows….maybe Santa will bring her a DVD player for her new shelf!

Leave a Reply

